How To Not Feel Like A Plastic Bag

It’s one of those life-slaps-me-on-the-face moments.

Two days ago, my mom forwarded me a link to a blog post by Marc Chernoff on his and his wife’s website, Marc and Angel Hack Life (it’s a really cool and inspirational site and I urge you to visit it when you have time).  Basically, this husband-and-wife team write about everyday life and advice on how to see the beauty in any kind of day (they cover other topics as well, but their motivational posts are the most popular).  Anyways, my mom sent me a link to one of the posts there which then led me to read several of the other well-received articles.  There was one phrase in one of the many posts, however, that had struck me deep down and made me question my whole being- Feeling good enough.  I mean, it’s normal to feel like a plastic bag sometimes, right?  But why I was questioning myself if I did feel this way is because I often derive my confidence from my possessions (not all the time, but most of the time).  I am guilty of constantly asking myself how a certain object would enhance my public image.  Shallow? I know. Don’t judge. Come to think of it, most of the time, even when I simply window-shop, the first thing I ask myself is how particular clothing would make me look like to other people; not if it makes me happy.  Two things: one- I shouldn’t compromise my self-worth for other people’s view of me, and two- I shouldn’t have to feel confident because of my material possessions.  Those are the two best ways to feel miserable.

Marc Chernoff touched about this in that post that I read saying, “Know that you are good enough, smart enough, beautiful enough, and strong enough.  Do not derive your sense of self-worth from what you own, who you know, where you live or what you look like.  Your self-worth is a reflection of who YOU are and how YOU choose to live.”  That’s probably why I feel like a plastic bag with holes on them most of the time (and it’s not even the nice, crisp Pricemart bags I’m talking about, either).  You might be thinking it was utterly stupid of me to think that listening to materialistic desire was the key to happiness, but cut me some slack.   We all have our realizations-of-a-dummy moments.

You know, it’s so easy for us to overlook how blessed we are, especially if we live in the privileged countries.  We’ve all heard variations of phrases like, At least you have warm clothing and a shelter over your head or It’s a privilege to go to school, you know or the classic At least you have edible food three times a day, seven days a week.  I am so lucky to experience all of these and some added bonus: supportive friends, God-given talents, and most of all, a loving family.  And it doesn’t stop there.  Blessings come our way everyday, in disguise, of course.  It all depends on our perspective.  A rainy day can seem like a burden during the summer, but if you look from a different angle, it’s actually quite relaxing.

I’ve said a lot of things in this post, but the bottomline is never think that your self-worth is garnered through material possessions, people you connect with, or basically your outward appearance.  How much your worth is depends on what you think of yourself and how you treat yourself.  Speaking from experience, even if you manage to get that certain material/position at work/ etc., you’ll never find true happiness because you know deep within that happiness is found within the two branches of love: loving those close to your heart and love towards your passions.

But the only way to unlocking that true happiness is knowing you’re worthy of experiencing true happiness.

         

 

Leave a Reply

